Saturday, November 17, 2012

lala amarnath

Lala Amarnath

Name: Nanik Amarnath Bharadwaj
Born: September 11, 1911, Kapurthala, Punjab
Died: August 5, 2000, New Delhi
Major teams: India, Gujarat, Hindus, Maharajah of Patiala's XI, Railways, Uttar Pradesh
Batting style: Right-hand bat
Bowling style: Right-arm medium

  • First Indian cricketer to score a Test century (In his debut Test match itself)
  • Independent India's first Test captain
  • Captained India to its first Test series win against Pakistan in 1952
Nanik Amarnath Bharadwaj, generally known as Lala Amarnath was a Test Cricket player of India. He was the first Indian Cricket player to score a Century in a Test match, and also the first Captain of the Indian Test Cricket team after the nation got its independence.

Early Life 
Amarnath was born on 11th of September 1911 at Kapurthala (Punjab), and moved along with his family later to Lahore (now in Pakistan). He didn’t have a very affluent background from his family, and created stirs when he scored 109 runs while playing for Southern Punjab against MCC in the year 1933-34. As a matter of fact, the Cricket magazine Wisden quoted his performance in this match as “A Brilliant Display”. 

bishen bedi

Bishan Bedi
Full Name: Bishan Singh Bedi
Born: September 25, 1946, Amritsar, Punjab
Major teams: India, Delhi, Northamptonshire, Northern Punjab
Batting style: Right-hand bat
Bowling style: Slow left-arm orthodox

Achievements: One of the famed Indian Spin Quartet; former India captain; before Anil Kumble, the Indian spinner with highest number of Test wickets 

Bishan Singh Bedi has been a former member of the Indian Cricket team. Considered to be an orthodox Bowler with expertise in Slow Left Arm Bowling, Bedi has been one of the 4 members of the well known Indian Spin Quartet along with B.S. Chandrasekhar, E.A.S. Prasanna and Srinivasaraghavan Venkataraghavan. 

Tenzing Norgay

Tenzing Norgay, GM born Namgyal Wangdi and often referred to as Sherpa Tenzing, was a Nepali Sherpa mountaineer.

Neil Armstrong

Neil Alden Armstrong was an American astronaut and the first person to walk on the Moon. He was also an aerospace engineer, naval aviator, test pilot, and university professor

Yogeshwar Dutt

Yogeshwar Dutt, is an Indian wrestler. He won the bronze medal at the 2012 Summer Olympics in the Men's 60kg Freestyle wrestling.

Dhanraj Pillay

Dhanraj Pillay in Pune, is a field hockey player and former captain of the Indian hockey team. He is currently the manager of the Indian Hockey team. 

Dhyan Chand

Dhyan Chand was an Indian field hockey player who is considered to be one of the greatest players of all time

M. S. Subbulakshmi

Madurai Shanmukhavadivu Subbulakshmi, also known as M.S., was a renowned Carnatic vocalist. She was the first musician ever to be awarded the Bharat Ratna, India's highest civilian honor.

M F Husain

Maqbool Fida Husain commonly known as MF Husain, was an Indian Qatari painter and Film Director. Husain was associated with Indian modernism in the 1940s

Björn Borg

Björn Rune Borg is a former World No. 1 tennis player from Sweden. Between 1974 and 1981 he won 11 Grand Slam singles titles. He won five consecutive Wimbledon singles titles and six French Open singles titles.

Pete Sampras

Peter "Pete" Sampras is a retired American tennis player and former World No. 1. During his 14-year tour career, he won 14 Grand Slam singles titles and became recognized as one of the greatest tennis players of all time

Martina Hingis

Martina Hingis is a Swiss former professional tennis player who spent a total of 209 weeks as World No. 1. She won five Grand Slam singles titles

Chris Evert

Christine Marie "Chris" Evert is a former World No. 1 professional tennis player from the United States. She won 18 Grand Slam singles championships and three doubles titles


Blog Archive

©2000 - 2011 rights reserved. e-mail: for enquiries.